Market Overview

As one of the largest energy markets in Central Asia with a current generation capacity of 12.9 gigawatts, Uzbekistan is well positioned to address the sector's challenges and ensure the country's energy security.

The energy intensity of Uzbekistan has decreased by about 45% over the past 15 years. Nevertheless, the country remains one of the most energy-consuming countries in the world- 35% more energy is spent on the production of a unit of GDP here than in neighboring Kazakhstan and three times more than in Germany.

Uzbekistan has great potential for the use of renewable energy sources, namely hydro, solar and wind energy. This potential is sufficient to reduce the country's dependence on natural gas, which provides 85% of the total electricity production. The development of the renewable energy sector will also open up new business opportunities and help the government of Uzbekistan fulfill its commitment to reduce greenhouse gas emissions per unit of GDP by 10% by 2030 compared to 2010 levels.

Renewable energy plan development strategy

The main strategy for the development of renewable energy sources is reflected in the Law of the Republic of Uzbekistan "On the Use of Renewable Energy Sources" and other regulatory legal acts, in accordance with which it is planned to reduce the use of traditional types of energy in economic sectors in the coming years through the introduction of renewable energy sources, bringing their share by 2030 up to more than 25% of the total volume of electricity generation, as well as in order to create favorable conditions for participants in the implementation of RES, significant state support is provided, such as :

- exemption from customs payments (with the exception of customs duties) of equipment, raw products and materials, components, devices, spare parts, technological documentation that are not produced in the republic;

- exemption from payment of all types of taxes for a period of five years from the date of state registration of manufacturers of renewable energy installations;

- tariffs for electricity generated from renewable energy sources are determined on the basis of competitive bidding;

and a number of other preferences and benefits not only for individuals and companies that create RES facilities and supply energy from RES, but also for consumers of this energy.

Обзор рынка

Являясь одним из крупнейших энергетических рынков в Центральной Азии с текущей мощностью выработки электроэнергии в 12,9 гигаватт, Узбекистан имеет хорошие возможности для решения проблем данного сектора и обеспечения энергетической безопасности страны.

Энергоемкость Узбекистана за последние 15 лет снизилась примерно на 45%. Тем не менее, страна остается одной из самых энергозатратных стран в мире – на производство единицы ВВП здесь затрачивается на 35% больше энергии, чем соседним Казахстаном и в три раза больше, чем в Германии.

В Узбекистане есть большой потенциал для использования возобновляемых источников энергии, а именно гидро-, солнечной и ветряной энергетики. Этого потенциала достаточно, чтобы снизить зависимость страны от природного газа, обеспечивающего производство 85% от общего объема электроэнергии. Развитие сектора возобновляемых источников энергии также откроет новые возможности для бизнеса и поможет правительству Узбекистана выполнить принятое обязательство по снижению выбросов парниковых газов на единицу ВВП на 10% к 2030 году по сравнению с уровнем 2010 года.

Стратегия развития плана по ВИЭ

Основная стратегия развития ВИЭ отражена в Законе Республики Узбекистан «Об использовании возобновляемых источников энергии» и других нормативно-правовых актах, в соответствии с которыми планируется в ближайшие годы снижение использования традиционных видов энергии в отраслях экономики за счет внедрения ВИЭ с доведением их доли к 2030 году до более 25% от общего объема генерации электрической энергии, а также в целях создания благоприятных условий для участников внедрения ВИЭ предусмотрена значительная государственная поддержка:

- освобождение от таможенных платежей (за исключением таможенных сборов) оборудования, сырья и материалов, комплектующих, приборов, запасных частей, технологической документации, не производимых в республике;

- освобождение от уплаты всех видов налогов сроком на пять лет с даты государственной регистрации производителей установок ВИЭ;

- тарифы на электрическую энергию, производимую из возобновляемых источников энергии, определяются на основе конкурсных торгов;

и ряд других преференций и льгот не только для лиц и компаний, создающих объекты ВИЭ и поставляющих энергию из ВИЭ, но и для потребителей этой энергии.